FK Dainava

Football In Lithuania

Football is a popular sport in Lithuania. The former Soviet republic emerged in 1992 as an independent football nation. In qualifying for the 2004 European Championship, Lithuania prevailed against Germany and won against Scotland. In qualifying for the 2008 European Championship they played away against the 2006 World Cup winner Italy and won 1-1 and beat Romania 3-0 in Lithuania in another shock.



In 1922, as in Poland, the football championships began in Lithuania. Then, in the metropolitan area of Piromontas, on the site of the future stadium Algiris there was a playground and benches for spectators. Around 1933-1935. The townspeople made embankments, and benches were set up on the eastern platform. The central grandstand looked like the modern one.

On July 23, 1953, the first competitions took place in the built stadium “Algiris” (the so-called “Youth Stadium” in Vilnius near the future building of Seimas).

Around 1955 football clubs began to appear in Vilnius. The stadium gave “Spartacus”. But the companies were pretty weak, so in 1962 it was decided “Spartacus” and “Algiris”, so appeared the modern team “algiris”.

Domestic Football

The highest men’s soccer league – A League, founded in 1991, since 2004, is called the NFKA A League. Weaker clubs play in the LFF I Liga, which played 12 teams in the 2007 season. The LFF III League matches are organized by 10 district football associations.

At the end of the season, the A-League winners receive the LFF Championship Cup and the LFF Champions Cup, which has the right to represent Lithuania in the UEFA Champions League and the Commonwealth Tournament. The last place in the A-League wins the team in the I-League. It was 2008 that the first two places in the First League Championship win the title in year 2009. Until 2007 On the second and last place in the A-League and the second place in the first league, the teams played two interconnected games for which the 1st League team got the right to play in the A-League, but in 2008, where the number of participants is reduced to 8 clubs, no transitional competition is provided.

The last two places at the end of the second league at the end of the season fall into the lower league, they are replaced by the winner of the 2nd league. The teams of the last two places of the 2nd league in both zones fall into the 3rd league and the winners of the III league championships play in two selection phases for the right to play in the 2nd league.